S. Farris wins Player of the Year

Rookie of the Year: E. Padovini
Volunteer of the Year: N. Spradlin
Partners of the Year: City of Frostburg, Mile Lane DG

FROSTBURG — The Allegany County Disc Golf Club announced on Jan. 3 in a post on social media that Shania Farris, of Wiley Ford, W.Va., was named the club’s Player of the Year for 2023.

Farris played her first round with the club by accident. As club members arrived to The Glades at Meschach Run Disc Golf Course in Garrett County on New Year’s Day, Farris arrived, too. She and husband Tim (with pup Latte in tow) agreed to play. Farris was paired with Nicki Raynor and the two represented the Women’s Division by finishing with a three over par 61.

Shania Farris

For Farris, the year only got better.

She dominated Winter Doubles League play on multiple occasions. Through nine weeks of play, Farris accumulated the third-most points of any player in any division with 42 (and only six points shy of a share of first place overall).

In the club’s expanded Summer Flex League — 14 weeks in 2023 compared to only six the year before — Farris showed just how good she was on an individual level. She played in — and won — all 14 times she toed the tee pads, and cruised to a Women’s Division win with 89 points. Her closest competitor was 37 points back.

Farris will receive a gift certificate to a disc golf retailer.

Rookie of the Year: Evan Padovini

Evan Padovini, 12, of Frostburg, burst onto the local disc golf scene in June. Over the first couple of months, the then 11-year-old made plenty of mistakes — but rarely made each more than once.

Evan Padovini on playoff hole number one.

The Mount Savage Middle School student was introduced to the sport during gym class in May, when the Allegany County Disc Golf Club helped facilitate disc golf instruction over a six-day period. Padovini mentioned his new-found interest at home, and both he and his father ended up having quite an impact in the division standings.

It took two playoff holes, but Padovini edged out Lucas Spradlin-Vogelsang for second place in the Boys’ Division during the Summer Flex League finale. Later on, Padovini upped his game even more. One night prior to the start of a glow round, Padovini was permitted to choose the CTP hole for Rec Division players. He never got to throw that hole, though, because his score qualified him to compete for CTP against the big dogs in the Advanced Division.

Padovini won Player of the Month honors in both June and October. He is the only player to win the award more than once in a single calendar year.

Padovini will receive a gift certificate to a disc golf retailer.

Volunteer of the Year: Noah Spradlin

The club is not certain how many times Noah Spradlin was “volun-told” to do something, but the club and its members benefitted heavily from the 24-year-old’s time, sweat and effort.

It was Spradlin who frequently set up courses for glow rounds, helped with administrative tasks both on the course and at home, and also was a key figure in the installation of baskets (along with Ken Pellini) to prep the opening of the first and only public disc golf course in Allegany County at Hoffman Park Disc Golf Course.

Spradlin will receive a gift certificate to his favorite coffee vendor.

Fisher Cup Player of the Year: Kristi Voigt

Kristi Voigt, of Thurmont, made the most of her one and only Fisher Cup appearance.

Voigt played the Emmitsburg course in May. With a lone entry into the drawing, her name was randomly selected as the Fisher Cup Player of the Year winner.

Partners of the Year: City of Frostburg and Mile Lane Disc Golf

The area disc golf scene would have looked far different — and quite the worse for wear — if not for the significant impact of the City of Frostburg and, separately, the folks at Mile Lane Disc Golf. The efforts of individuals from both entities helped the Allegany County Disc Golf Club record a very successful first full year in operation.

The City of Frostburg’s Mayor and Council approved in late December 2022 the funding and installation of baskets at what would become Hoffman Park Disc Golf Course. City staff, led by Parks Director Brian Vought, were on hand every step of the way, as needed, to provide assistance with both administrative and labor tasks.

Scott Mallery and Mile Lane Disc Golf, meanwhile, teamed up with the Allegany County Disc Golf Club to make two good things even better. Mallery’s Saturday Morning Tag League, which debuted in 2022, averaged more players in 2023 than the year prior in part because of the partnership between the club and Mile Lane DG in which the club’s Summer Flex League players could earn a bonus point if they threw (or tied) their best round of the flex league weekend during the SMTL round.

It’s believed that participation in both leagues increased because of the parntership.

Fisher Cup – 4th Quarter drawing

Matthew Marsh, of Oakland, won the random drawing for the Fisher Cup fourth quarter. He will receive a $15 Sheetz gift card.

Social Media Stars

Matthew Marsh, Bill Shreve, Kathryn Mathews and Scott Mallery were recognized as Social Media Stars — that is, the four people who “liked” and shared social media posts originally made on the Allegany County Disc Golf Club’s Facebook page.

The club is thankful to have their support and looks forward to 2024 for more chances when they and others choose to help spread the word of events and happenings on the local disc golf scene.

Ace Club members

There was only one ace thrown during a club round from the club’s founding in May through the end of 2022. That was Caleb Campbell, on hole No. 4 at The Glades.

In 2023, Campbell had some company join him.

Seven people combined to throw a total of 14 aces in 2023. The barrage was led by Bill Shreve, of Cumberland, who threw the 14th and final club ace of the year in the final Fall Doubles League round in November. He scored a hole in one on No. 2 at Hoffman Park DGC in Frostburg.

Shreve threw five aces during club rounds during the year, followed by Kevin Spradlin (4), then one each by NaTasha Scolaro, Stephanie Spradlin, Keith Raynor, Ethan von Hagel and Gordon Cox.

The club will attempt to reach players (or their parent/guardian) no later than March 31. It’s intended that all awards will be distributed before the end of the first calendar quarter.

Previous awards still to be distributed by the club include Marshall Vogtman (September Player of the Month), Evan Padovini (October Player of the Month), Karli Huff (Summer 2022 Flex League division winner), and 2023 Summer Flex League award winners Josiah Spradlin, Evan Padovini, Luke Spradlin-Vogelsang and Mariam Bladen.

In addition, the club still needs to give Bill Shreve $205 for his ace pot winnings.

All of these are to be distributed and finalized no later than March 31, 2024.

Filed in: Featured, Latest Headlines

You might like:

Von Hagel wins drawing for Pixel Von Hagel wins drawing for Pixel
Application period open for club sponsorship Application period open for club sponsorship
S. Farris wins Player of the Year S. Farris wins Player of the Year
Miller takes Turkey Day title with 10 birdies Miller takes Turkey Day title with 10 birdies
© 2024 AlleganyPlayground.com. All rights reserved. XHTML / CSS Valid.