Registration now open for 3rd annual Summer Fling doubles tourney

August event part of MVP Circuit Challenge

* Click here to register
* Mile Lane Disc Golf on Facebook
* 2022 event coverage

MOUNT SAVAGE — Registration is now open for the third annual Summer Fling Disc Golf Doubles Tournament at Mile Lane Disc Golf in Mount Savage.

The two-round, bring-your-own-partner event is scheduled for Saturday, Aug. 26, with a 9:30 a.m. tee time for round one. Round two is expected to begin around 12:30 p.m. The event will look very similar to the 2022 version with one new feature: This year, it is a part of the MVP Circuit Challenge series. Players can choose two discs among the MVP Proton Servo fairway driver, the Axiom Neutron Tempo putt and approach disc, and the Streamline Electron Runway midrange. Players can pick any two of the three as availability remains.

Players can register as a team — $30 per player for Saturday Morning Tag League tag holders, $35 per player for non-tag holders — or as an individual and be paired up with another player.

As in 2022, the first round of 24 baskets will be alternate shot, and Round 1 results will determine teams’ positions in the upper division or lower division. At the end of round two (another 24 baskets), the top three teams in the upper division — more than three, in case of ties — will duke it out in a winner-take-all six-hole playoff. The winning team will have the lowest combined score after 30 baskets.

The Summer Fling tournament is operated independently by the Mallery family and Mile Lane Disc Golf. However, the Allegany County Disc Golf Club has supported the event since the tournament’s inaugural year in 2021 — nine months before the club was founded. As in 2022, the Allegany County Disc Golf Club is expected to field multiple teams (paid for by the players) and sponsor one team (paid for by the club).

In 2022, Aaron Roberts and Zach Williams dominated the first two rounds, making the six-hole finale all but a formality. The pair won by six strokes over runners-up Scott Mallery and B.J. Lewis. Nic Davies and Seth Wilson won the lower division.

In 2021, the format was quite different. The first round was a singles event, and then doubles partners were paired by (No. 1 singles with the worst singles player, No. 2 singles with the second-worst singles player, and so on). Jim Buser won the singles round with an eight under par 52, while Colby Mallery was one stroke off the pace and Nick Russ was third.

In round two, Russ and Sam Wolodkin won the doubles round, while Davies and Lewis were second (two strokes back).

2021 results





Filed in: Latest Headlines, Outdoors, Sports

You might like:

MVP Space Race event, Fall Doubles League opener to combine at Ditto on Oct. 22 MVP Space Race event, Fall Doubles League opener to combine at Ditto on Oct. 22
Bogey-free round helps B. Padovini to 1st SFL victory Bogey-free round helps B. Padovini to 1st SFL victory
Marshall, Marshall, Marshall! Marshall, Marshall, Marshall!
Fall Doubles League to open at Ditto Farms Fall Doubles League to open at Ditto Farms
© 2023 All rights reserved. XHTML / CSS Valid.