Sheriff’s Office conducts sex offender compliance check

Charges pending for 1 firearms, 5 possible address violations

* NC Sex Offender Registry

ROCKINGHAM — The Richmond County Sheriff’s Office conducted a sex offender compliance check over the last two days with the assistance of the N.C. Department of Public Safety, Probation and Parole, the U.S. Marshals Service and members of the U.S. Marshal Service Task Force.

The operation targeted 118 registered sex offenders living in the county. None of the 118 individuals are designated as “predators” on the registry. One of the 118 individuals appears to have a Mount Gilead address but reside within Richmond County. Each list offers viewers at least one booking photo of the registered offender, a physical description, reporting obligation as well as conviction and sentencing details.

Scroll down for a complete list of Richmond County residents listed as registered sex offenders as of 10 p.m. Saturday.

Richmond County Sheriff James Clemmons Jr. said in a news release that he’s “thankful for the cooperation of the federal and state agents that come to Richmond County and worked with our agency to help make this a very successful operation.”

Registered offenders noted a 96 percent compliance rate.

That’s “one of the top compliance checks in the state,” Clemmons said, “and we’ll working at it until we maintain a constant 100 percent compliance.”

The sheriff’s office has added a position for one investigator whose sole purpose is to supervise the sex offender registry.

NC_Sex_Offender_RegistryThe purpose of the operation was to physically confirm that the registrants were living at the address listed on the sex offender registry and to update information required by law. Compliance checks are an effort that goes beyond what is required by North Carolina’s sex offender registration requirements under N.C.G.S. 14-208.9A(b) which authorizes additional verification measures.

Of the residences checked five individuals will be investigated further to determine if they are in violation of the registry requirements.  If they are found to be in violation, those individuals will be charged by the Richmond County Sheriff’s Office with Failure to Change Address as a Sex Offender, a class F felony punishable by 13 to 16 months in prison.  One offender was found to be in possession of a firearm and was charged with Felon in Possession of a Weapon.

The results of the operation indicate that 96 percent of the individuals checked were in compliance which is a result of the ongoing efforts of the Sex Offender Registration Unit of the Richmond County Sheriff’s Office. Additionally, each offender was asked to come to the sheriff’s office during the month of June to have their photographs updated.

The Sex Offender Investigations Branch of the U.S. Marshals Service was established after the passage of the Adam Walsh Child Safety and Protection Act in 2006.  The Marshals Service was designated as the lead federal agency in prosecuting non-compliant sex offenders who move across state lines and establish residency in violation of sex offender registry statutes.  One of the strategic efforts of the Sex Offender Investigations Branch is to assist local registry officials during unannounced compliance checks with additional funding, resources, and manpower, and to aid in the fugitive investigations that arise as a result of the compliance checks.

Middle District of North Carolina U.S. Marshal Bill Stafford commented, “The U.S. Marshal Service and its law enforcement partners are serious about the threats posed to the community by non-compliant sex offender registrants. Most sex offender registrants comply with their responsibility to register. However, those who do not comply should realize that there are serious consequences when they do not obey the law and move without notifying law enforcement.”

The U.S. Marshals Joint Fugitive Task Force for the Middle District of North Carolina, is comprised of investigators from the U.S. Marshals Service, Chapel Hill Police Department, Durham Police Department, Greensboro Police Department, High Point Police Department, Winston-Salem Police Department, Alamance County Sheriff’s Office, the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, and the North Carolina Highway Patrol. For more information regarding the U.S. Marshals Service, visit

* * * 


Timothy Scott Buck, Robert James Hammer, Charles Rodruck Sargent


Lori Ann Bass, Merle Kenneth Bunting, David Lee Cook, Deanthony Marvel Dumas, Bernie Junior Hill III, Tunorial Abdul Jordan, Jorge Elpidio Ortiz Jr., Daniel Lamont Smith, Emmanuel Williams Jr.


Richard Levon Bennett, Roland Buie, Kenneth Blane Chavis, Trever Ried Cowen, Henry V. Crabtree, John Victor Gardner, Lee Thonia Gibson Jr., Chris Anthony Goins, Ernest R. Hoffman, William Curtis Hoffman, Allen Eugene Ivy, William Jackson,  Frank Jones, Jordan Andrew Kemp, Gregory James Little, Michael Allen McCune, Douglas Edwards McDonald Jr., Douglas Edward McDonald Sr., Robert Leslie Melton Jr., Charlie Hines Morrison III, Douglas Morrison, Christopher Lee Oathout, Preston Dudley Page Jr., Shawn A. Peterkin, Kenneth Wayne Polston, Keith Tyrone Ratliff, William Jermaine Ray, Danny Ricks, Jerry Robinson, John William Robinson, Kyle Demound Lindsay Rogers, Coldel Scott Jr., Curtis Royce Sweet, Sammie Ray Usher Jr., Michael Dale Willman


Brian Teyon Cowen, Thomas Grant Danzeisen


Joshua James Reeves

Mount Gilead

Clinton Addison Thomason


Sally Huff Armfield, Hugo Christopher Austin, Floyd Bass Jr., David D. Beavers, Frederick J. Becker, Tyree Lewis Bell, Ronald Lewis Blakely, Derevius Montrell Brewington, Allen Lamont Campbell, Richard Victor Clark, Jonathan Russell Dawkins, James Edward Dillon, Roger Dale Gathings III, Bryan Lee Gibson, Russell Lee Glass, Charles Lewis Goodwin, Stanley Gould, Timothy Wayne Grant, James Allen Holmes, Floyd Ingram Jr., Samuel Floyd Ingram, Kermedis Jacobs, Bryan Lee James, Philip Bruce Kingsley, Joel Wayne Knight, Brandon Miles Langley, John Wayne Ledbetter, Billy Ray Lewis, Victor Ardell Littles, Robert Elwood Long, George John Marsh, Marshall Deshawn McAllister, Floyd Larry McKenzie, Shawndell Maurice McNeil, Joseph Daniel Miller, David Moody, Demetric Lamont Morgan, Dwight Junior Morgan, Robert Allen Morris Jr., Timothy Wade Ott, Sharon Renee Parnell, Dana Danielle Pate, William George Payne, John Arthur Pearson, Jonathan Alan Raybon, Thomas Elvis Rivers, Gary Tyrone Roberts, Alfred L. Robinson, Harry Robinson, Jason M. Sanders, Tyrelle Tiesean Scarborough, James Edward Sellars Sr., Thomas Hubert Shepherd, Heather Ann Smith, Thomas Lee Spencer, Kevin Danard Starnes, David James Strickland, Timothy Eugene Sweatt, Harry Ray Taylor, Marty Thomas Terry Sr., Rashid Thompson, Freddy Lee Tilley, James Edward Tilley, Allen Fitzgerald Travis, Rocky Morris Waddell, James Harold Williams, Eric Dean Young.

Filed in: Latest Headlines

You might like:

Miller takes Turkey Day title with 10 birdies Miller takes Turkey Day title with 10 birdies
Von Hagel rolls to singles win Von Hagel rolls to singles win
Throw-ins help Shreve, Mallery forge FDL Week 3 tie with Warder, Spradlin Throw-ins help Shreve, Mallery forge FDL Week 3 tie with Warder, Spradlin
E. Padovini wins Player of the Month (again) for October E. Padovini wins Player of the Month (again) for October
© 2023 All rights reserved. XHTML / CSS Valid.